Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality

The Dr Kenneth Kaunda DM consists of four local municipalities i.e. Matlosana, Tlokwe, Maquassi Hills, and Ventersdorp. The area covered by the District Municipality appears on the map below (Figure B.1) and this is followed by the demographics. The statistical information is the combination of the projections of the 2006 population based on the 2001 Census, the 2007 Community Survey by StatsSA, the Quantec Research of 2008, the Dr Kenneth Kaunda DM Spatial Development Framework of 2011 and other analyses described hereunder. The analyses are based upon demarcations boundaries as at 2010 provided by Statistics South Africa.

Technology Innovation Agency

The Technology Innovation Agency (TIA or the Agency)

Astron Energy

Astron Energy (Pty) Ltd.

SACNASP: South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions

SACNASP is a statutory body established through an act of Parliament, the Natural Scientific Professions Act [Act No. 27 of 2003 as amended] (“the Act”). SACNASP is the legislated regulatory body for natural science practitioners in South Africa. The primary role of SACNASP is to be a registration, regulatory and development body for natural scientists and in doing so, to provide protection to the public and professions.


The South African Renewable Energy Technology Centre (SARETEC) based at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) is an initiative of the National Skills Fund (NSF) under the auspices of Department of Higher Education & Training and has positioned itself to become the premier skills training centre for the renewable energy industry by providing training aligned to global quality standards.


SENTECH - Providing multimedia content infrastructure services and platforms

Automotive Industry Development Centre

Automotive Industry Development Centre- Opportunities for Women

The Innovation Hub

The Innovation Hub, Africa's first internationally accredited Science and technology park and a full member of the International Association of Science Parks is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Gauteng Growth and Development Agency.  It was established by the Gauteng Provincial Government through its Department of Economic Development to promote socio-economic development and competitiveness of Gauteng through innovation. Strategically located in Pretoria, Gauteng - South Africa's executive capital and 'smart' Province - The Innovation Hub's intelligent community has become a regional centre of innovation and knowledge creation, linked to the fast moving world of global interconnectivity.  Its enterprise development programmes include the Maxum Business Incubator, mLab, the Climate Innovation Centre South Africa, and the BioPark@Gauteng and EkasiLabs.

SA Board for People Pratices

The SA Board for People Practices is the HR professional and statutory quality assurance body for HR Learning provision.                


                                    NRF │ SAASTA and Public Engagement Programmes (PEP’s)


The main objective with HySA Systems is to (i) develop Hydrogen and Fuel Cell systems, demonstrators, prototypes and products, (ii) perform technology validation and system integration and (iii) focus on system oriented material R&D in two key HySA-programmes Combined Heat and Power (KP1) Combined heat and power (CHP) systems based on fuel cells offer high efficiency, low emission, and decentralised power and heat supply for buildings and industries. They can operate from the existing natural gas distribution network, using a reformer to convert methane gas to hydrogen thus minimizing infrastructure requirements.
Rand Water

Rand Water Corporate Profile

The Nanotechnology Public Engagement Programme

The Nanotechnology Public Engagement Programme (NPEP) is an initiative funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and implemented by SAASTA, a business unit of the National Research Foundation (NRF). The programme was born of the government’s National Nanotechnology Strategy (NNS). Launched in early 2008, the main objective of the NPEP is to enable effective dissemination of information targeted at enhancing the public’s knowledge and understanding of nanotechnology and also creates a ‘climate’ that is favourable for public knowledge and education to enable informed decision making on nanotechnology innovations so as to improve the quality of life. NPEP further assists in the translation of academic research in nanotechnology for the consumption of the public, industry and the policy makers and therefore being a service to these diverse groups of stakeholders.

Department of Science and Technology

The Department of Science and Technology seeks to boost socio-economic development in South Africa through research and innovation. To achieve its goals, the Department provides leadership, an enabling environment and resources for science, technology and innovation. Through its Programmes (Administration; Technology Innovation; International Cooperation and Resources; Research Development and Support; and Socio-economic Innovation Partnerships) and several entities that work alongside it, the Department is accomplishing groundbreaking science and enhancing the well-being of all South Africans.