What is the ASDSA

The Association for Skills Development in South Africa (ASDSA) was established in 2001 and is the professional
body for skills development practitioners. Our membership includes all the skills development roles, including facilitators, assessors and moderators from all sectors of the economy. The ASDSA is a non-profit Section 21 organisation with branches in all the major metropolitan areas as well as satellite branches in the other provinces.

What is our mission?

The Association for Skills Development in South Africa (ASDSA) seeks to establish and maintain the credibility of the skills development profession, regardless of industrial sector, through:

• Awarding professional designations to competent practitioners

• Representing members / industry on business and labour forums

• Representing members on skills related interests

• Supporting, assisting and providing knowledge and information that is

required by members in order to fulfil their corporate socio-economic

and community responsbilities, and

• Upholding the code of conduct

Who are our Stakeholders?

Our stakeholders include: our members, designated skills development professionals,
government organisations (DHET, DTI, DOL and professional forums), regulatory
bodies (SETA, QCTO, SAQA, AQP, DQP, CHE), strategic partners (BUSA, labour brokers,
recruitment agencies, NEDLAC), and various learning institutions (TVET, Universities,

Your Membership Benefits

Information sharing
• Workshops
• Quarterly newsletters
• Position papers
• With like minded professionals for work opportunities
Professional designations
• The ASDSA awards professional designations that confirm
the current competence of our Skills Development Technicians,
Practitioners and Masters
Provides a unified voice for SDP’s
• Lobby government, SETA’s and authorities on your behalf
Life long learning
• Recognised on a structured continuing professional development
Professional support structures
• Constitution, code of ethics

How do I become a member?

  1. Apply online on our website
  2. Read our code of conduct and sign the online application
  3. Pay your membership fees
  4. Receive your certificate of membership
  5. Pay your annual renewal fee

Who should apply?

Any person or company for whom skills development is a priority, this
includes all SD Facilitators, SD Practitioners, SD Providers, HR practitioners,
L&D professionals, EE and B-BBEE specialists.

Your Professional Designation…

… is recognition of your experience and expertise in the field of skills
development and awarded by the ASDSA, a SAQA recognised professional
body. (SAQA ID: 866)

Choose Your Designation

Skills Development Technician SAQA ID: 493
• Prepare a Workplace Skills Plan
• Monitor, maintain and comply with a Quality Managment System
• Conduct a skills audit
• Compile an Annual Training Report
• Co-ordinate the implementation of training
• Prepare grant claims
• Report on Employment Equity
Skills Development Practitioner SAQA ID: 494
• Developing and maintaining organisational training strategy in
the workplace
• Facilitating implementation of training strategy
• Develop & maintain organisational Quality Management System
• Facilitate career development
• Provide business performance consulting
Skills Development Master SAQA ID: 770
• Research disciplines/strategic issues and evaluate theories, concepts and principles
• Guide and oversee the development and/or implementation of an organisational
learning and human capital development
• Guide and advise on the design of an organisation-wide integrated Quality
Management System
• Lead a multi-disciplinary and/or cross-functional team in the planning,
implementation and / or evaluation of initiatives
• Provide strategic guidance and / or reports to the board or executive management
on national and / or global trends

How To Apply for Your Designation?

  1. Apply online by completing the appropriate Self Assessment form
  2. Prepare and submit an assessment (Portfolio of Evidence / Board Exam)
  3. Review (Certification Committee reviews your assessment)
  4. Successful – Designation status is Awarded
  5. Collect CPD points to maintain your designation
    Learn more on

Leave a Comment